Eagle…

I’ve always been drawn to heavy music, no matter what the genre; metal, blues, hip hop, classical…

After falling in love with doom and drone six years ago, I started making my own music, echoing the dark sounds I was discovering. It didn’t seem to matter to me that I was playing ukulele and harmonicas, rather than guitars.

My own music has been through a few genres, but it is doom and drone where I feel ‘at home’. The way in which a piece will build up seemingly from nothing is a magical experience to me. I love getting lost in sound.

I’ve been making a lot of music lately, playing pretty much every day, and I have found my sound getting heavier and darker over the last few weeks.

The latest batch of sounds I’ve finished are definitely in the doom style, heavy, loud and menacing. They also have a drone quality to them, leading you into a trancelike state.

They may be short, but they hold plenty of power, and I am very proud of how they’ve come out.

I have to acknowledge my peers and influences, Eagle Twin, Sunn O))), High on Fire and Goatsnake, all of whom have added to the mix of heaviness, tone and texture.

Having played these pieces a lot over the last few days, I have found my groove, and plan on taking them out live into the world… if the world is ready for them.

https://ruke.bandcamp.com/album/eagle

Leave a comment