A meditation on fishing…

I spent most of yesterday at the pond I ‘found’ two years ago. It’s a lovely spot, surrounded by trees, and quite overgrown. The vegetation surrounding it means that when you’re in there,  you can’t be seen from the outside, making it a palace of solitude.

Managing to get up early yesterday (oversleeping is an issue at present), I got down to the supermarket and tackle shop to pick up supplies for the day. It was so nice to be by the water I the early light, and to fire up the stove to cook breakfast. Bacon and beetroot rolls with coffee cooked outside taste so good. 

Setting up my rod for float fishing, I cast out with bread crust to try and catch some fish off the surface. I might as well not bothered, as I fell asleep, and snoozed through the whole morning! 

Waking around midday, I sparked up the stove for another brew, and recast my rod. Bingo! I had caught a small Roach, no bigger than my hand, but it was my first fish of the year, and I smiled as I unhooked it and released it back into the water. I packed up shortly after, and headed home, planning to return later in the day.

Returning that evening, I switched spots, casting out towards the centre of the pond, where the fish were congregating. After a few casts, I caught another Roach, again, no bigger than my hand, but the hard work was paying off. Throughout the next few hours, I caught three more Roach, all around the same size. 

Whilst I was at the pond, separated from everyday life, I was completely in the moment, all that mattered was watching the water, looking at the spot where the bait was, and seeing the fish knock at it, trying to dislodge it from the hook. It’s the first time in a long while that I have been so at peace, and disconnected from everyday worries. All that mattered was being there, surrounded by nature, enveloped by greenery, with clear blue sky above.

Leave a Reply

