Flat Cats

A short vehicular excursion along country lanes a few days hence allowed me to purchase the missing piece for my beloved old BMX.

Refuelling with freshly brewed coffee whilst installing my new sprocket and the freshly procured half-link chain brought my ancient steed back to fully functioning life once more. My goal of riding flatland was achievable!

After the elements had done their worst with wind and rain, the park seemed quieter than usual, which suited me, being the sensitive soul that I am. (I do not like an audience when I’m learning…)

A deserted car park was just what I needed to practice rolling into a bar spin, then being able to effectively ride my bicycle backwards. I’m sure the sight of a grown man rolling downhill with on leg over their handlebars was slightly amusing to some!

I had some feline company whilst I rode, namely an affectionate ginger tom, who I see around the park and have dubbed Ginger. He is a soppy beast, and I was glad of the attention. I like cats…

So I didn’t get the transition from rolling backwards to riding backwards, but after watching young Watanabe Sohana  from Japan (She is like 5?), I was soon back out again… I love this video, she says “I’m happy.” at the end, and that is what riding should make you feel.

https://www.facebook.com/ecobicycle/videos/1060780560613281/

 

Leave a Reply

