Let’s go exploring… Chapter 3, the conclusion!

Visiting The Pond has finally paid off! I caught a fish!

I’ve already splashed this across social media, but here’s the bigger story of a little fish that has made me really happy…

After finding The Pond (it looks good with capitals!) three weeks back, it has become my regular fishing spot, with two or three visits a week, time permitting. I got in a lovely early morning session a few weeks back with a pot of coffee, bread and cheese and plenty of bait.

Yesterday, it was pouring with rain, but I was determined to get down to The Pond and get another session in before the week was out. We have a Japanese student staying with us at present, which is a wonderful experience, but has eaten into my wife and I’s time and energy. So, weather or not, I was going fishing yesterday!

I had already decided to fish in the far corner of The Pond after seeing a decent size fish swimming out of the weeds earlier in the week, so crept into the trees and weeds and baited up with dog food and bread. I first cast out with imitation maggots, but the fish weren’t having any of it. The rain was keeping them in the fringes, and they weren’t coming out! After a couple of casts, I got a really nasty tangle in my line, so lost a lot of time sorting that out. It was better to just cut the bad section out and retie my float section. I was wet and cold, even with coffee to keep me going, so rebaited the water and my hook with bread crust, and cast out again.

The fish liked it! I had two really good knocks, with the float bobbing about, then a really big ‘take’, although the fish managed to slip off the hook as I struck… Mindful of the time, and being soaking wet and cold (my fingers were getting shrivelled!), I decided to try one last bait and cast before I went home. Bingo.

The float dropped like a stone beneath the water, and as I carefully wound in the line, I could see that a beautiful little Roach had taken the bait and was hooked, good and proper. I had caught my first solo fish! It was no bigger than the palm of my hand, but I was so proud of my first catch. Now for the scary bit…

I am a little squeamish of slimy things, especially frogs and toads, which I have been mildly phobic of since early childhood, so having to touch the Roach to unhook it and release it was a big deal. Fish care is paramount to me. I know that hooking a fish hurts it (like a nettle sting), but they wouldn’t keep coming back if they didn’t want to get caught. I quickly held the line near the fish, took a quick few photos, then very gently held it and slipped the hook out. I was so proud of myself for doing this, as I was worried about harming any fish I caught by being nervous. It was fine. I held it for a second, then moved back to the water to release it… Whoops! I dropped it, but gently scooped it up and made sure it was safely back in the water, watching it swim off safely.

I was buzzing. The months of blanking, trying baits and spots, rigs and hooks had finally paid off. I was soaking wet, cold and muddy, but very, very happy. I quickly packed up my kit and headed back to the car, grinning like the Cheshire Cat and shouting goodbye to the fish.

I called my good buddy Rolf, who has taught me how to fish to pass on the good news. It seemed only proper that he would be the first person I called, even before my wife! He was really pleased, and fought to get a word in, as I was now running on pure adrenaline, whooping and shouting! My first fish!

After a brief chat, I pulled off in the car to pick up a celebratory beer or three, and went home for cheese and biscuits with my lovely wife, who thinks fishing is very odd, but is very happy on how it makes me happy and calm…

Leave a Reply

