Big kid…

I write another blog about my comics projects (http://anywereonline.blogspot.co.uk/), so won’t go on too much about the projects I’m working on here, as you can find out more there…

I’ve loved comics since I was tiny, my Saturday morning treat (if I’d been good) was a comic of my choice, usually one of the Marvel UK reprints, Planet of the Apes being a particular favourite. It stood to reason that I’d start writing and drawing them eventually. I had my first strip published at age 12.

12 was a pivotal age for me. It was when I decided what I was going to do for a living, to be a graphic designer. I loved drawing comics but thought it would be hard breaking into the industry, and graphic design was an easier route to follow that would allow me to be creative for a living. It was a practical decision. More recently, I wish I’d stuck to my gut instinct and become a cartoonist. Ahh, regrets…

So, after a lifetime of drawing and reading comics, I finally published two of my own last year. It’s the best thing I ever did, art-wise. Sure, they’ve not sold loads, but they have sold, and I have a fan base building. This year, the challenge is to release a new comic (PDFs to start for £2.00/$2.00) bi-monthly, with the hope of getting a small print run later in the year. My first title should be ready for the end of this month. It’s written, and I’ve drawn the first five of twenty-four pages. They’ll be six issues in this series, alongside six other titles which will be separate stories, probably stand-alone. I’m done waiting for the big break, and am making it myself. Life’s too short right?

Leave a Reply

