In the trees…

Two posts in 24 hours? What’s going on? I’ve been running, that’s what…

I went out an did my first proper trail run this afternoon.  I didn’t break any records or run any further or faster than I have so far, but there was hills, trees and mud, plenty of it.  It’s a really nice way to finish off my first proper week of running, getting out in the mud and leaves and putting in some effort.

I’m lucky to have canal fields (ridge and furrow), woodland and (small) hills on my doorstep.  The five minute walk there is a good warm up and gets my legs moving, and the ridge and furrow is a lovely start to the run.  They undulate up and down with two foot drops and rises, getting you used to different terrain and levels.  Once you get over the canal bridge, you’re into the woods, which is where the fun really begins.

The woods were planted in 2000, so are pretty well established, but not dense enough to get lost in.  Trees are planted in regular rows with a few clear (muddy) paths between them.  I’ve cycled through them before, the twisting singletrack is great fun on two wheels.  Guess what?  It’s great fun on to feet too.  You go uphill on a clear path on the way out, trees lining each side.  It’s not a steep incline, but the mud makes it fun. A quick breather (!) for a selfie at the top, then nip across the grass, blast through a big puddle, and you’re weaving back down the slope.  This side is more fun, as you have to pick through the trees at the start, then follow the path as it snakes down through the woods.  Great fun blasting through mud and over roots. It’s made realise how much I love my shoes and running ‘wild’.  I definitely made the right choice picking trail running.

So, I got out breath, didn’t run for that long and got muddy feet. But I loved it, and plan on being back next week to do it all over again, but faster. Get muddy!

Picking my way back down through the trees.
Picking my way back down through the trees.
View from the top of the trail
View from the top of the trail
One thought on “In the trees…

Leave a Reply

